Run. Crawl. Carry.Several comic book stories have been released under the Serenity title, set in the fictional universe created for Joss Whedon‘s Firefly television series and Serenity film, and which are considered canon.

THE OTHER HALF a single-shot, eight-page comic. The story revolves around the Serenity crew aboard a hover-stagecoach, protecting it from Reavers as they try to deliver their seriously wounded passenger to their destination, in order to claim the second half of his fare. (2008)

BETTER DAYS is set before the vents of Those Left Behind. It tells the tale of the Crew clashing with Ephraim Sanda. It was Ephraim’s mission to hunt down “Dust Devils,” who were Browncoats of very high skill sets known to be involved in terrorism against the Alliance. (2008)

THOSE LEFT BEHIND is a three-issue limited series, created in 2005 as a tie-in to the film Serenity. The series was written by Joss Whedon and Brett Matthews, illustrated by Will Conrad, lettered by Michael Heisler, and colored by Laura Martin. It tells the tale bridging the gap between the Firefly TV series and the Serenity Movie. Joss used this tale to tie up loose ends with the series and to introduce a few characters appearing in the movie. (2005)

FLOAT OUT is a one shot comic focused on pilot Hoban “Wash” Washburne. Following Wash’s death, three former colleagues pool their resources to purchase a ship (a Firefly-class ship of a different model to Serenity), which they intend to name Jetwash in honor of their friend. It also features a surprise ending involving Zoe.

THE SHEPARD’S TALE is a story resulting from actor Ron Glass asking Joss Whedon to provide some more information about his character Shepherd Derrial Book. This was a private conversation during a the 2007 Browncoat Cruise. This conversation turned into an idea for a comic book, however it would be delayed for three years by Joss Whedon. The three-year delay was because no appropriate author could be found to write the story from Whedon’s outlines, until Joss brought his brother Zack in on the project in late 2009. It tells the story of Book using flashbacks. (2010)

DOWNTIME takes place before the Serenity movie. The comic depicts the crew of Serenity stranded on an icy planet in the middle of a storm after a heist. The crew are completely unaware that a band of locals are searching for and have found them, only for River to deal with them in her own special way. (2010)

IT’S NEVER EASY is a Free Comic Book Day comic. Written by Zack Whedon with art by Fábio Moon; the other half of the comic is a Star Wars story also written by Zack Whedon. The story involves an attempt by a prospective passenger to steal Serenity while landed in the countryside. It also expands on the story about Zoe introduced during FLOAT OUT. (2012)

LEAVES ON THE WIND: A six-issue series by Dark Horse Comics. It takes place after the events of the film. The comic featured the hastag #WheresSerenity and tells the tale of what happens to the crew once they reveal Miranda to the entire Verse. It is written by Zack Whedon. (2014)





Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s